Info Panel
You are here:   Home  /  Treaty  /  Treaty of 1677

Treaty of 1677

The Treaty of 1677 (or the Treaty Between Virginia And The Indians 1677 or Treaty of Middle Plantation) was signed in Virginia on May 28, 1677 between Charles II of England and representatives from various Virginia Native American tribes including the Nottoway, the Appomattoc, the Wayonaoake, the Nansemond, the Nanzatico, the Monacan, the Saponi, and the Meherrin following the end of Bacon’s Rebellion.

The treaty designated those that signed as “tributary tribe(s),” [1] meaning they were guaranteed their homeland territories, hunting and fishing rights, the right to keep and bear arms, and other colonial protections so long as they maintained obedience and subjugation to the English Empire.

The twenty-one articles of the treaty were confirmed when England sent gifts to the chiefs along with various badges of authority.

The Queen of Pamunkey, known as Cockacoeske to the English,[2] received a red velvet cap which was fastened with a silver frontlet and silver chains.[3]


Native American leaders who signed the treaty include:

  1655  /  Treaty  /  Last Updated October 12, 2019 by admin  /  Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *